a Michigan paddler’s bent shaft paddle project

A Michigan paddle maker in the depths of winter sends along an awesome note. Made my day! Love getting messages like this!
“…Hello Jeff,
A year or so ago I found your book and ordered one of your kits.  Well, I’ve finished my first paddle (you do stress patience in the book) and thought maybe you would be interested in my adventure.  I feel like I’m learning a lot about hand tools and wood and never would have got started without your book.  Hand planes, rasps and a lot of sanding (and patience) got me this far.  After looking at a lot of paddles, info on the web, and fixing little goofs along the way (a couple of times I considered scrapping it and starting over) I finally got it finished.  Did improvise a bit, sometimes out of necessity, but most of the pieces are from your kit. G-Flex (with a little black tint) poured into a mold made a nice rockguard.  Found your instructions on fibreglassing to be particularly helpful as I’d never done anything like that before.    Anyway, just wanted to thank you for the inspiration.  I think you can see from the picture (s. MI) that it might be a few days before I get to try it out – patience!   I do have a couple of questions if you don’t mind:  Do you sell rice paper decals? – I’m not happy with the ones I have; and, can I purchase individual pieces but not the whole kit?
Thanks again,
Dave T …”
dave-t-paddle-project
and yes I can do rice paper decals or simply sell you a piece of blank paper and yes you can buy parts and pieces and not ‘just’ the whole kit……
happy paddling!
Jeff
Leave a Reply

